Insurance Blog

Can You Void Your Home Insurance By Mistake?

At Harris Insurance, we know that your home coverage can be confusing. We also know that it’s easy to make mistakes that could impact your Jasper, AL home. We have had many people asking us about whether or not they can accidentally void their home insurance. Surely that’s not possible, right?

Yes: And Here’s How 

You absolutely can void your homeowner insurance policy by mistake, and it’s important to know how. Here are three of the most common mistakes homeowners make:

  • Leaving Your Home Too Long: If you leave your home for 30 days or more without telling your insurance company, you could avoid your policy. Just let us know, and we’ll make sure that you stay protected by keeping your policy active.
  • Extensive Renovations: Now, this situation is only a problem if you don’t tell your insurance agent what you’re up to with your home upgrades. Whenever you add new items that increase your home’s value, let us know so that we don’t have to void your policy and get you another one.
  • A Home Business: Running a home-based business is an exciting situation but can be a real problem if you don’t get extra policy protection. If you have expensive equipment, keep inventory in your home, or have clients coming and going to and from your home, you could void your policy.

Other ways to avoid your policy include fraudulently reporting or describing an event or change in your property, doing illegal things in your home, or submitting too many claims.

Don’t Make This Mistake

Prevent yourself from voiding your home insurance by contacting us at Harris Insurance and talking with us if you’re close to making these mistakes. We’ll help Jasper, AL residents like you handle this process smoothly and minimize the risk of serious problems that could impact your home’s cost.

Click to Call
Harris Insurance

806 Hwy 78 W
Jasper, AL 35501

Get Directions

Servicing States

  • Alabama
  • Florida
  • Tennessee
  • Mississippi
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • North Carolina
  • Texas
  • California
  • Oregon
  • Washington
  • Michigan
  • Arkansas
  • Virginia
  • Indiana
  • Illinois