Insurance Blog

Three misconceptions about commercial insurance you should know about

Business owners need to be well informed when they make decisions regarding commercial insurance coverage. Luckily, we offer commercial insurance coverage at Harris Insurance.

Unfortunately, there are some widespread misconceptions out there regarding commercial coverage. As a business owner, you need to be aware of these misconceptions. The following are three misconceptions about commercial insurance you should know about.

I don’t need errors and omissions coverage unless I’m working as a doctor or lawyer.

Errors and omissions coverage is a good thing to have if you’re involved with any business that involves giving advice. You could potentially be sued if a client is paying for your advice regarding their health or finances.

Errors and omissions coverage can provide you with valuable protection against expensive lawsuits. 

My homeowner’s insurance coverage will cover me for claims against a home-based business.

Some homeowners who run a home-based business make the incorrect assumption that their home insurance will cover their business activities. This is not typically the case. Homeowners insurance won’t provide coverage for a lawsuit or any liability issue against a home-based business. 

My commercial property insurance will cover flood damage.

If you own a home, you may already be aware of the fact that a standard home insurance policy will not protect against flood damage. Commercial property insurance coverage works the same way.

If your commercial facility is located in an area with flood risk, you should invest in a flood damage policy. Your commercial property insurance will not pay for damage to your commercial property caused by flooding. 

Contact us to learn more about commercial insurance in Jasper, AL. We’re here to answer your questions and provide you with assistance at Harris Insurance.

Click to Call
Harris Insurance

806 Hwy 78 W
Jasper, AL 35501

Get Directions

Servicing States

  • Alabama
  • Florida
  • Tennessee
  • Mississippi
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • North Carolina
  • Texas
  • California
  • Oregon
  • Washington
  • Michigan
  • Arkansas
  • Virginia
  • Indiana
  • Illinois